The Measure of a Man

This past week, my Granddad passed away a hero, mentor and a friend to all of us. As details of my granddad’s life continue to come out, it becomes more and more apparent the legacy he leaves behind is one the world would be proud of. He died a WWII hero, having served on the USS Arkansas at D-Day as troops rushed the beaches of Normandy, bombarding the shores of Italy as Patton marched toward Germany, and then traveling to the Pacific to serve at Iwo Jima and Okinawa.

Even more, he died a father of four who continue to follow in the footsteps of our Savior and who are, even now, raising their children and grandchildren to do the same. As my granddad took a turn for the worse, we all gathered in his hospital room for what seemed like the last time. I was amazed at the influx of people who flowed like water in and out of his room to pay their respects and tell him they loved him. For five days, his hospital room was full of family and friends who came and went, a testament of the impact he had on their lives. And what was amazing still, my granddad knew everyone of them by name. He knew the details of their lives and cared for them up until the last.

I stood in amazement as it struck me the measure of a man is not in the details of accomplishments, even those his were great, or the size of his bank account, or his possessions, or his rise up some corporate ladder. It struck me that perhaps the measure of a man is found in the lives of those who would never be the same because of his influence. That, perhaps, the measure of a man is not power or wealth, but in the names of those who came in the last days to pay their respects.

And if that wasn’t enough, to each who came to say bye, my granddad took every person by the hand and blessed them with words of encouragement and words which echoed the love of our savior, who with his life, conquered death and made a place for my granddad in paradise. Until the very last, my granddad continued to bless each of us with his great faith and the overflowing love he had for the one man who died to take the sins of the world.

And so, my granddad followed Jesus all the days of his life, taking great strides across the face of this planet, and then, when the time came, walked with Jesus into eternity where he is even now, sitting at the feet of Jesus reveling in the glory that is now his.

My granddad taught me lots of things, but the last might have been the most important. You see, the measure of a man is not in his wealth, his title, or his earthly possessions, but in the names of those who lives are forever changed by his impact.

I’m proud of the man my granddad was and the legacy he leaves behind to all of us. If I could by half the man my granddad was, I’d consider that the greatest success.

When the perishable puts on the imperishable, and the mortal puts on immortality, then shall come to pass the saying that is written, ‘Death is swallowed up in victory.’ 

 


One response to “The Measure of a Man

Leave a comment